North Macedonia: July 1 and 2 the Prespa Forum

North Macedonia: July 1 and 2 the Prespa Forum

The Minister of Foreign Affairs of North Macedonia, Bujar Osmani, made statements during a press conference regarding the first conference of the Prespa Forum for Dialogue, which will be held on July 1st and 2nd in Ohrid and Oteshevo.

The conference, entitled “Western Balkans: The Missing Puzzle for Completing Europe”, will bring together some 300 people from the region and the international community, including Prime Ministers, Presidents, Ministers and Secretaries-General.

The conference will be opened by the Prime Minister, Zoran Zaev. Reaffirmed speakers include former Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras, special mediator in the dispute with Greece Matthew Nimetz, Parliament Speaker of North Macedonia Talat Xhaferi, DUI leader Ali Ahmeti, Deputy Secretary General of the European Parliament Eurasian Affairs Minister Phil Reeker, Deputy Prime Minister for European Affairs Nikola Dimitrov, Foreign Minister Bujar Osmani, former EU High Representative for the CFSP Federica Mogherini, Secretary of Defense Radmila Shekerinska, NATO Secretary George Robertson, former EU Special Envoy Alain Le Roy, EU Commissioner Johannes Hahn, Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu and the Greek government will be represented by Deputy Foreign Minister Costas Frangogiannis.

The conference will include meetings on the economy and business cooperation, civil society, regional media and the European integration process. The panels will discuss issues for young people and their vision for the future of South East Europe, women, peace and stability, building trust through dialogue, the role of the Western Balkans in the future of Europe and the lessons learned from the long-running conflicts in Southeastern Europe.

The conference will also be attended by the US Special Envoy for the Western Balkans, Matthew Palmer, the President of Northern Macedonia, Stevo Pendarovski, the President of Montenegro, Milo Djukanovic, the President of Slovenia, Borut Pahor, the Prime Minister of Serbia. Ana Brnabic, the Prime Minister of Kosovo, Albin Kurti and the Prime Minister of Albania, Edi Rama./ibna