Four ministers relinquish their MP mandates

Four ministers relinquish their MP mandates

Tirana, September 19, 2014/Independent Balkan News Agency

Four ministers of the cabinet led by prime minister Edi Rama, have relinquished their MP mandate.

The ministers are Saimir Tahiri, Interior minister, Ditmir Bushati, Foreign minister, Shkelqim Cani, Finance minister and Energy and Industry minister, Damian Gjiknuri.

There have also been other ministers who have relinquished their mandates before. Such action comes as a fulfillment of the declaration made by prime minister Edi Rama before the June 23 elections a year ago, that those MPs who will be ministers, will leave relinquish their mandates, thus avoiding double functions.

Meanwhile, Central Election Commission is expected to launch the procedures to replace the former MPs. /ibna/