General Election results confirmed

General Election results confirmed

The Bosnia and Herzegovina Central Election Commission (CEC BiH) confirmed at the Tuesday session in Sarajevo the results of the General elections in BiH, held on October 7, 2018.

It means that all applications and accusations about a false election process and vote robbery are over. Also, confirming the results is a sign that the deadlines for the convening of sessions of newly elected legislative bodies of BiH, the Republika Srpska, the Federation of BiH and the cantons are now on.

The BiH Presidency members, the House of Representatives of the Parliamentary Assembly of BiH, the President and Vice-Presidents of the Republika Srpska and the National Assembly of the Republika Srpska, as well as the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Federation of BiH and the 10 cantonal assemblies were elected in the general elections.

According to the confirmed election results, Milorad Dodik, Šefik Džaferović and Željko Komšić are elected to the tripartite BiH Presidency in the next four years. Željka Cvijanović was elected on the position of President of the Republic of Srpska. RS vice-Presidents in next mandate will be Ramiz Salkić and Josip Jerković.

In the general elections, 42 MPs were elected to the Parliamentary Assembly of BiH, 83 in the National Assembly of Republika Srpska, and 98 in the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the FBiH. At cantonal level of government, MPs in 10 cantonal assemblies were elected.

Newly elected Serb member of the BiH Presidency, Milorad Dodik, said on Tuesday that the constituent session of the RS National Assembly will take a place on October 19 in Banja Luka. At the session, MPs and newly elected RS President, Željka Cvijanović, will take an oath. After them, Dodik will go through the same procedure. A day after the session, the BiH Presidency will be inaugurated.

This is an unusual situation since most of the previous Serb members of Presidency did not have any objection to take an oath on the inauguration in Sarajevo and Dodik will do that in front of the RS NA deputies. The exception was Momčilo Krajišnik, who was elected in the first democratic elections in BiH after war in 1996. He refused to come to the Sarajevo inauguration ceremony because, as he said at the time, he did not feel secure. He took the oath in a hotel near Sarajevo downtown a few days later…. / IBNA