Bulgaria: National Assembly approves changes to the Cabinet

Bulgaria: National Assembly approves changes to the Cabinet

The Bulgarian National Assembly approved the changes in the composition of the Cabinet. With 116 deputies voting in favor and 89 against without abstentions, the changes in the Cabinet were approved.

Immediately after the vote, cries of “resignation” were heard again in the hall.

Discussions on the changes and the vote took place in the absence of Prime Minister Boyko Borissov. The opposition Socialist Party BSP has repeatedly called him to show respect for the legislature and to attend the plenary session to support the decision of the five ministers in his cabinet. However, President Tsveta Karayancheva explained that the Prime Minister could not come to parliament because he was obstructed. “I want to remind the rules and the Constitution, where there is no explicit requirement for the presence of the Prime Minister. He is making his changes to the Council of Ministers, but there is no obstacle for Mr Tomislav Donchev, as Deputy Prime Minister, to present them. That is why all three deputy prime ministers are here, so we are continuing the discussion”, Karayancheva said.

Finance Minister Vladislav Goranov, Interior Minister Mladen Marinov, Economy Minister Emil Karanikolov, Health Minister Kiril Ananiev and Tourism Minister Nikolina Angelkova are leaving the cabinet.

Former Vice President of Economic and Demographic Policy Mariana Nikolova, who is appointed Minister of Tourism, was sworn in before the National Assembly. Marinov will be replaced by Director of the General Directorate of National Police Hristo Terziiski, and Ananiev will be replaced by Director of Alexandrovska Hospital Professor Konstantin Angelov. The control in the Ministry of Economy is taken over by the former Deputy Minister Lahezar Borissov.

Kiril Ananiev returns to the Ministry of Finance as Minister./ibna