Albania takes over the chairmanship of SEECP Parliamentary Assembly

Albania takes over the chairmanship of SEECP Parliamentary Assembly

Tirana, November 11, 2014/Independent Balkan News Agency

Albania takes over the chairmanship of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Southeast Europe Cooperation Process. Albanian authorities say that the priorities of the next chairmanship will be focused on three main aspects: in strengthening the regional role, the improvement of the functioning of SEECP through regional ownership and a consolidation of the importance of sectors based on the “Southeast Europe Strategy 2020”.

Commenting on the chairmanship, the speaker of the Albanian parliament, Ilir Meta says that this process of cooperation in Southeast Europe represents an excellent platform to bring SEECP countries closer and to meet European aspirations.

“I’m convinced that through the transforming power of the European Union, we can contribute as parliaments in order to create a dynamic climate in our region, which must turn into a significant engine of economic growth and improvement of wellbeing for our citizens. I believe that this must be the basis of the success of this process that we have started”, says Mr. Meta.

Cooperation and tolerance are a big force in politics for change, -underlines Mr. Meta. He says that “for Albania, it’s very important to work together with EU countries in order to speed up European integration”.

The member countries of this Assembly are Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Greece, FYR Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Turkey and Kosovo. /ibna/