11 public figures refused President Ivanov’s amnesty

11 public figures refused President Ivanov’s amnesty

Skopje, 18 April 2016/Independent Balkan News Agency

By Naser Pajaziti

11 out of 56 politicians, officials and former government officials, heads of communes and party leaders have refused the decision of president George Ivanov to pardon them. Through public letters, they have demanded to President Ivanov to withdraw his amnesty decision.

The first one who refused the amnesty was leader of SDSM, Zoran Zaev, who delivered a press conference. His decision was followed by the former president of the country, Branko Crvenkovski, speaker of parliament, Trajko Veljanovski, member of the State Election Commission, Bedredin Ibrahimi, former head of the Center Commune, Vladimir Todorovic, mayor of Manastir, Vladimir Taleski, former PM and leader of VMRO-DPMNE, Nikola Gruevski and former head of the Secret Services, Saso Mijalkov. Among them there are several prosecutors, former ministers and other state officials.

President Ivanov said that he has taken this decision without being influenced by external factors, but to uphold the best interests of the country and avoid a further political crisis. He said that all of them who have refused the amnesty, will be reviewed by the team of experts. The president’s amnesty includes criminal offenses such as corruption and institutional criminality, unfolded through the wiretapping affair. /balkaneu.com/